Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-19-2012, 04:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham - UK
Posts: 78
Mega cloudy tank - black sand

Hi guys,

Set up my tank the other day with Tetra plant substrate and black sand (which i rinsed many times until it was clear in the bucket) but the water is just mega cloudy, i can physically see the white hazy cloud moving round the tank - sort of like when you have the hot tap not quite on enough as its a milky white colour, and its left a sling over the glass.

Is this normal or is something abnormal?

I have drained it to around 1/3 now and will refill it tomorrow but i dont know what to do if it doesnt go away? As i cant exactly just remove the sand

Any thoughts?

Cheers
Andy
__________________

__________________
Pandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BHead707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 923
so you capped some form of plant substrate with sand? im kinda confused
__________________

__________________
BHead707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
It'll settle down. What kind of filter do u have?
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham - UK
Posts: 78
Yes, i have 2cm depth of plant substrate with 2cm+ of sand, as instructed on the tub of the plant substrate and on the advice of others on here

Its a Juwel Lido so am using the standard filter setup in that.
__________________
Pandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandy
Yes, i have 2cm depth of plant substrate with 2cm+ of sand, as instructed on the tub of the plant substrate and on the advice of others on here

Its a Juwel Lido so am using the standard filter setup in that.
You need something to cover the intake so ur impellers not destroyed by the fine sand
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BHead707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 923
give it some time as boadams87 stated, i set up a 75 gallon with sand it it took over 4 days to clear up fully, and pwc wont hurt if they seem to help at all
__________________

__________________
BHead707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black sand, cloud, cloudy, sand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
23L Planted Tank Basefrog Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 177 03-23-2012 11:01 AM
Who has a quarantine tank? fishyperson3010 Aquaria Off-Topic 23 03-02-2012 10:23 PM
New fish only tank Clownfish25 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 02-24-2012 05:41 PM
fish tank stocking animalzrok2 Cichlid Discussion 41 02-19-2012 04:53 PM
Getting Calcification Off Inside of 40 Gallon Tank Twoapennything General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2012 03:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.