My first tank! - 29 gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SCATHED

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I bought my first tank the other day on craigslist. I got the tank, hood and light, stand, undergravel filter, air pump, gravel, and 100w heater. It's all up and running right now letting it cycle. I don't know how long until the cycle is over because I don't have a test kit yet because I am a college student and funds are low right now haha. I had it running for 3 days now and the water is looking cloudy...is this normal?

I also just bought an AquaClear 30 filter off ebay, but I'm thinking that maybe I should got the 50 or 70?

Anyways, what else do I need? I don't' have any fish yet..what kind of fish would you reccomend for a beginner? I want something pretty hardy since this is my first tank.

Thanks!

I got a 29 gallon as my first tank about a year ago, and it's a great size! You really have a lot of options for community fish, and the size isn't too overwhelming.

I also just bought an AquaClear 30 filter off ebay, but I'm thinking that maybe I should got the 50 or 70?

I run an AC 70 on my tank, gives pretty strong flow but does a great job filtering. I'm sure either the 50 or 70 would be fine, but you might be right that the 30 will be smaller than you want.

Anyways, what else do I need? I don't' have any fish yet..what kind of fish would you reccomend for a beginner? I want something pretty hardy since this is my first tank.

Thanks!

I second the test kit. It's invaluable during your cycling process; way easier than having to take samples to a fish store for testing. Also, it's your first go-to if you do have an issue with your tank down the road. It's money well spent.

Not sure about the cloudy water, was the tank clean and empty when you got it? Hopefully someone more knowledgeable than me will chime in.