My first tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mhenry

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
IMG_0612.jpg I have 3 tiger barb ,black fin shark,Plecostomus and a betta

No long I think I jump in it to fast my 3 tiger barb died what all do I need to do to ensure everything is fine with the water and stuff to ensure the fish don't die! I'm new at this

Read the article link in my signature. It will explain alot. And there is an article on fish-in cycling which is what you are doing with the fish you have in the tank.

How big is your tank?
It looks like your tank has a filter and a heater so props on that! are you using water conditioner? how often and how big are your water changes?

In all honesty is was probably a good thing your tiger barbs died. they are notorious fin nippers and they need to be in larger groups. they would have probably shredded your bettas fins
I think you should probably research each of your fish to see what they need and what they are like.

if it is a common pleco, I would suggest taking it back if you can. they get huge and they can get aggresive. they are known to suck the slime coat off of fish and kill them.

as for your black fin shark, i think those things can get pretty big and might get aggressive too. I suggest doing more research.

There is a learning curve to this hobby, but it's worth it if you stick with it. Good luck and good job asking questions!

What are the best fish to get for beginners? And it just a 10gal I'm going next weekend to get a 50 and I been doing 25% water change and every 3-4 days

Go online and get liquid test kit like API called master test kit and you will be set like a scientist for testing the water and making sure the fish are living in safe conditions.

Read up on Columbian Catfish, aka Black Tip Sharks, they have some very specific issues, poison dorsal spines and get HUGE.