My first tank (55 gallon community)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

.josh.

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've kept the title quite general, as I figure I'll use this same thread to update throughout my experiences with this tank; this is my first time with a tank (not including when I was about 6, and we won a goldfish that lived for a matter of hours), and while I have done a whole lot of research, please forgive me if I appear naive at times. I am new to this.

In any case, I just began my fishless cycle yesterday. Since I've only got two 20-watt fluorescents for lighting for the time being, I've got some low-light plants in there: Anubias Afzeli, Crypt Ciliata (potted), Crypt Spiralis, Hornwort, Giant Duckweed, and 2 Moss Balls. My LFS advised on the Crypt Ciliata, which I've since learned might require more light than I can provide, but we'll see how that goes.

Here are some of the numbers:

Temperature: 82 F
Ammonia: 4 ppm
pH: 8.3
GH: 6 dKH (107.4 ppm)
KH: 18 dKH (321.5 ppm)

I'm a bit alarmed by the carbon hardness, and wondering whether I should do anything to attempt to lower it, and consequently lower the pH (e.g., get some RO water [I used tap water treated with Seachem Prime to fill the tank] and do a partial water change), or just leave it as is for the time being. I suspect most will suggest to wait until the cycle's complete, and see where the pH is at at this point, but thought I'd put the question out there.

*I'll add pictures in the coming days - still working on my "aquascaping" :)