Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2013, 08:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
My Nitrites and nitrates spiked

I am cycling my tank for the last month and every day my readings have been
Ammo .25-.50ppm
Nitrites 0ppm
Nitrates 0ppm
Today I just came in for my daily check and it's
Ammo same as always
Nitrites 5ppm
Nitrates 10ppm

Should I water change?! Or will the BB take care of the spike?! I am freaking out! What do I do?
__________________

__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
You dont have fish yet do you? You're getting there. You still have a way to go yet. When they get unreadable on the chart, do a water change. Or if pH starts dropping do one.
__________________

__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hholly View Post
You dont have fish yet do you? You're getting there. You still have a way to go yet. When they get unreadable on the chart, do a water change. Or if pH starts dropping do one.
Yes I do have fish in the tank I have 6 serpea tetras and 4 corydoras. I did a 30% water change just now using prime as my declor.
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishDaAx View Post

Yes I do have fish in the tank I have 6 serpea tetras and 4 corydoras. I did a 30% water change just now using prime as my declor.
Oh, okay. I was thinking fishless. Yeah, water changes good. If you could do another one or two tonight to get that nitrite down it would be a good idea. Keep an eye on your pH. Keep up the good work!
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hholly View Post

Oh, okay. I was thinking fishless. Yeah, water changes good. If you could do another one or two tonight to get that nitrite down it would be a good idea. Keep an eye on your pH. Keep up the good work!
Ok in a hour or 2 ill test the lvls again and pH. If its still high nitrite readings ill do a 20-30% water change again tonight. Thanks for that help I really appreciate it!
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
No problem! Don't be afraid to do a 50% change if you want.
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hholly View Post
No problem! Don't be afraid to do a 50% change if you want.
Will doing large water changes mess with my BB any?
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
No. Just be sure and dose water conditioner for the whole tank volume, and mix it in the water and let it sit a few minutes before starting your filter up again.
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
Ok so just did my master test. This is what I am working with

Ammonia - between 0 and .25ppm
Nitrite - 1ppm
Nitrates - 10ppm
pH - 7.4
Water temp - 78

Can I sleep sound tonight? Or should I do another water change?
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Since you're using Prime, you should be good for the night. You can even add a little bit more Prime if you want. Good job getting that number down.
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:27 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
Ok I'll add a cap of prime to it and I check it in the morning to see how it's doing. I had no idea being an aquarist was so much work! But I really really enjoy it.
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:29 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
I just retested my pH levels with both the high range and regular pH test.

High range 7.4
Low was 7.6
So is it safe to say my tank is at 7.6 pH level?
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:29 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishDaAx View Post
Ok I'll add a cap of prime to it and I check it in the morning to see how it's doing. I had no idea being an aquarist was so much work! But I really really enjoy it.
I know! I used to think "how hard could it be? Fill the tank up, throw fish in, feed the fish..." lol.
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:31 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishDaAx View Post
I just retested my pH levels with both the high range and regular pH test.

High range 7.4
Low was 7.6
So is it safe to say my tank is at 7.6 pH level?
It's hard to say since you just did a water change. Try testing it tomorrow.
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:14 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishDaAx View Post
I just retested my pH levels with both the high range and regular pH test.

High range 7.4
Low was 7.6
So is it safe to say my tank is at 7.6 pH level?
Correct me if I'm wrong here but If your low was 7.6 then your high will be the next color up.
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:14 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishDaAx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rare View Post

Correct me if I'm wrong here but If your low was 7.6 then your high will be the next color up.
The API master test kit has a low range pH test and a high pH range test. My low pH hit the max on the color chart but barley (light blue 7.6) my high range test hit only the first color on the chart (light brown 7.4 next color is 7.8) so I think that the 7.6 is right. Does that make sense? I don't know if I explained that right lol
__________________
FishDaAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:08 PM   #17
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishDaAx View Post
I just retested my pH levels with both the high range and regular pH test.

High range 7.4
Low was 7.6
So is it safe to say my tank is at 7.6 pH level?
Nope. The regular ph goes from 7.2 then jumps to 7.6. So, you will see a 'blue' result for anything above 7.2 (ie, 7.3, 7.4, 7.5, 7.6). The high range test has low limit of 7.4- anything below this will appear as 7.4 as well. Comparing both tests, your ph is right in the 7.3-7.4 range.
__________________

__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates, nitrites

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.