Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2009, 03:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
My tank is finally cycled! Question though...

Ok my tank finally is done cycling but i have a question, i tested for nitrates and i don't seem to have any...is that bad? lol

also now that the tank is done cycling how much of a water change should i do? and do i keep adding ammonia because i dont have the fish yet and probably wont for a couple of weeks
__________________

__________________
The_Wolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jim692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: southeast, PA.
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Wolfman View Post
Ok my tank finally is done cycling but i have a question, i tested for nitrates and i don't seem to have any...is that bad? lol
Do you have a planted tank. If so the plants are likely why you have no nitrate readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Wolfman View Post
also now that the tank is done cycling how much of a water change should i do?
Change the water to get ready for fish but you won't be adding fish yet. About 50% or daily till the nitrate reading is around or below 10ppm before adding fish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Wolfman View Post
do i keep adding ammonia because i dont have the fish yet and probably wont for a couple of weeks
Yes, keep dosing ammonia. The bacteria need it to feed and keep your cycle active or they will die. Figure ammonia addition of .25 to .50 ppm or so daily to keep them happy and healthy.

What were you dosing to while cycling?
__________________

__________________
Jim
jim692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconin
Posts: 170
Are you sure you're cycled? I thought you needed to see ammonia drop, nitrites drop, and nitrates up to have cycled.

I'm new to this (and just saw my nitrites start coming up) - so I'm genuinely curious.
__________________
laxpatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Yeah its defiantly cycled...i started out with ammonia, no nitrites, no nitrates...half way through my ammonia started dropping to 0ppm everyday and my nitrites went wayyyy up...eventually i had alot of nitrates near the end. Now, my ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are all virtually at 0ppm, and yeah i have probably about 7 plants in the tank
__________________
The_Wolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55 gallong tank cycled...FINALLY!!! papa_bear_21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-27-2007 05:22 PM
Tank finally cycled? doctorb Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 08-10-2007 06:32 AM
Tank cycled, bettas added FINALLY! nikipike Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-22-2006 07:30 AM
Tank finally cycled, need stocking suggestions (20g) oxymoron Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-26-2005 08:41 AM
Finally my tank has cycled!! electrocutioner Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 04-23-2005 04:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.