Name that nasty disease....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KmanFishNewb

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All

Complete newb to fish but have had a few going for a while now but the tank has caught a nasty disease that is spreading to the plants.

They start off looking like little black dots until they grow into small "Sprouts". They are growing on the glass, filters and also plant , only thing not covered is the fish.

They hard to scrub off but if you leave a small amount of the "Core" they soon grow back.

Help Im desperate got a picture if i can figure out how to upload.

Thanks

Kingsley

Attachments

• fishdisease.jpg
    fishdisease.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 62
Looks like black hair algae or black bearded algae from the picture.
I have some black hair on my Amazon sword, Siamese algae eaters will eat it, I have one but can't seem to find any more locally, my sword tails and even my plecos will nibble on it as well but not real effectively. Algaecide should work but it may harm your plants.

I treated my BBA with a 24 hr blackout (no peeking, no feeding, nothing!). It died off considerably in my 10g. There were a few small clumps left and I scrubbed them off and rinsed with some tank water. It has been well over a year with no signs of it.

I'm not sure what you can do since you have plants in your tank. At the time I did a blackout it was a fish only tank.

You can do blackouts in planted tank as well. The plants can usually bounce back form a few days of blackout.

IME, BBA (I think that is what the pic is showing) can't be killed with just a 24 hr blackout. It takes 4-5 days to kill that stuff off. Plants will take a bit of a beating with that long a blackout, but the BBA will eventually kill the plants so it is worth doing.