Need adivce on my current setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gondo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm not really a beginner, but I don't know that much either so I posted in the beginner section.

My setup is as follows:

30 gallon glass
Rena Filstar X2 Canister Filter - 75 gallon
Black Gravel, Artificial plants/ornaments
25-30 Neon Tetras, 10 Black Phantoms, 3 Corys

First off I used to have a 10 gallon and used a mix of reverse osmosis and tap water to the right proportions and never had algae. Now I use just filtered tap water due to cost, and have algae blooms which is easily cleaned. Is this due to using tap water? I fill using a python and add conditioner and bacteria.

Next whenever I do a water change I tend to do a lot of vacuuming since I have a good 2 inches of gravel and there's lots of stuff in there. I sometimes end up with a 50% water change which is lots. So I'm thinking of just doing a quick 25% water change. Then to vacuum the rocks I'd put some polyfill in my canister filter, and hook up a vacuum to the inlet and vacuum away and jsut cycle the water to collect all the crap. Then throw out the polyfill in the canister and put the regular media back in.

Also the first filter on the canister, the large one get lots of crap in it which will not wash out under running water. It seems to be stuck in there pretty good. Do I jsut do as good as I can or should I replace this filter more often which would get expensive?