Need answers to a few questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

byt

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi , I am new at aquariums and have a few questions so please bear with me.
I just got a 24" x 12" x 12" tank (which works out to 14G or so) with Nutrafin natural CO2 system and reflector lights with 2x20w 18,000K (Aqua-Glo) tubes.
I am planning on a planted tank and my lfs sold me 3kg of iron based gravel and 9kg of fine (2mm) gravel. I presume that I will need to mix them up ... is this ok as substrate and would i need to mix any fertilizers to the substrate ?
My understanding is that 3 inches of substrate depth is the norm for a planted tank. However, with my tank being kinda shallow and the stand & hood making it look even shallower, I was wondering if i could do with less substrate depth?
My plan is to set up the tank with filter running for a couple days and then start planting. I know I should plant heavy since it will help with algae but am also worried that if things don't go to plan, I will end up losing more plants than if I plant less?
I won't be adding fish until later so would I need to use some kind of fertilizer in the meantime since there is no fish waste to provide nutrients to the plants?

PS not sure if this is the right place to ask this but my reflector lights has a remote ballast , i was wondering if it matters where i put the ballast? Does it get really hot or can I just put it on the aquarium stand or something?

I think that's all the questions I have for now.... thanks guy !

Welcome to AA!