Need help cycling with a fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nisi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've had a small fantail goldfish in a 5gal tank for almost 2 weeks. I'm pretty new to this, but I know enough to know that a new tank needs to cycle, and I've cycled with fish semi-successfully before (see below). I'd never heard of fishless cycling until I found this site, and if I could start over I'd probably try that, but it's too late now - I already have a fish. So, if I could get some advice and opinions on cycling a tank with a fish that I do *not* consider expendable, I'd appreciate it. My main question is, what ammonia level is "safe" while the tank is cycling? (I know no amount is really safe, but there has to be some or it can't cycle, right?) I can find all kinds of sites saying to do frequent water changes to keep ammonia from getting too high, but nowhere have I seen any indication of how high is "too high".

So far, I've been testing at least once a day and doing 20-25% water changes roughly every other day or as needed to keep ammonia levels at or below the .25-.5ppm range. Yesterday morning the fish was listless and floating near the top, though it did perk up a bit when we fed it, also it was gulping bubbles and spitting them back out, which I've never seen it do before. Anyway, I tested ammonia and it had jumped to 1ppm, maybe a bit higher. I did three 20-25% water changes yesterday spaced throughout the day. This morning ammonia is back under .5ppm and the fish is more active, though it's still going after the bubbles (not sure if that's significant or not). Is this an ok ammonia level, or should I try to keep it lower? How long should it take to cycle? (Last time it was really quick once I kinda-sorta knew what I was doing, like less than 2 weeks) Anything I can do to make it safer for the fish? Any other advice?