Need help plz!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pleco951

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Heres my situation, im new to the aquarium thing and was hunting around for a reasonable sized tank, and then my friend gave me a rather large tank...
Its around 540 litres (143 gallons), i had it cycling for about a month with a large canister filter, i did all the right steps in helping the tank along.
come 4 weeks, at this time the water was not quite clear, it had a yellowy green tinge to the water, i caried out 4 water changes and it did clear up but still has the yellowy green tinge , just not as bad.it planted out with around 15 plants and curently has 8 fish in it, two tube flourescent lighting, air pump and a 300watt heater.

I was wondering if there is anything wrong with the tank, and how to get the water to a crystal clear finish?:(

please help, im tired of looking at a nearly there fish tank.

Pleco,

Welcome to AA!

Some water parameters would help...

Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates, Temperature, pH?

What kind of fish? What kind of plants?

What kind of lighting are you using (wattage, bulb type, and spectrum of bulbs?) Also, how long are you leaving the lights on each day?

What kind of canister filter are you using? How many Gallons per hour does it turn?

At what point did you put the fish in? How did you cycle the tank?

What kind of filter media are you using? Did you seed the filter or tank with any biological media from an already established tank?

Are you putting in additives in the tank? (algaecide, pH up or down, water clarifier, etc)?

Do the fish/plants appear healthy? Have you had any fish die?

These are just a few of the questions that will help some of the folks here assist you in determining what the problem is.

cool thanks
The ph is around 6-7
Ammonia= 0.5 ppm
Nitrate=5ppm
Nitrite=0.25ppm