New 10 Gal planted tank - advice please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tank Artist

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Let me start by saying I am new to keeping aquariums and originally got into the hobby because of gardening. I am EXTREMELY green to keeping tanks, so please don't judge too harshly. I am genuinely here to learn more, so that my pets and plants are happy and healthy! :fish2:

I started my 10 Gal with live marine sand. I was told that while doing a no-fish cycling of the tank, the minerals and bacteria provided in this substrate would create a good environment for a healthy ecosystem. I also used Nutrafin Bio Cycle and a solution to remove any possible chlorine. The plants were added after day three of cycling with minimal clouding left from the live substrate. After seeing no plant shock due to "brackish" environment changes from sand (and normal test strip readings), I added 3 Cherry Shrimp and 6 White Cloud Minnows on day eight. After extensive research online, I discovered that the WCM do better in groups of ten or more to reduce stress. I promptly went to get 4 WCM to add and somehow ended up with 6 for a total of 12. I then researched more about the RCS and found they like to be in groups of 5, so I added 2 more.

All of these guys have been coexisting peacefully and I didn't see any problems until last night. :( I was watching my tank and noticed a WCM with it's mouth stuck open. As a newbie, I decided to start searching fish forums and i'm pretty sure it's columnaris (sp?). He died within minutes of seclusion. I awoke this morning to find a second one with the white decay around his mouth and not moving with the shoal. Again, he died within minutes of seclusion. What can I do to keep this infection from killing off the rest of the tank if it is in fact columnaris?