New 20g long tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BTM88

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone! I've had some basic experience with keeping fish a few years ago. For a number of years I had a Tiger Oscar and few smaller fish, until the Oscar got big and ate them.
I am thinking about starting up a new 20g long tank, sand substrate, AquaClear 50 filter, natural looking decor like rocks and wood. I have made a list of fish that I think would work well in this tank but would love to get some second, third, and fourth opinions!

3x Otocinclus
5x Black Kuhli
2x Dwarf Gourami
5x Von Rio Fire Tetra
8x Zebra Danio

That's a good list although I'd stick to just one DG. Gonna do some live plants?

Edit: forgot to mention that you should wait some time (several months) before adding the otos as they need mature tanks to survive.

My plan is to eventually have a live plant tank, probably will start with ground cover like baby tear or java moss. And build a forest from that.

Also I've seen DGs do well in pairs. Any particular reason why you suggest only having one?

Male gouramis will generally not tolerate each other, similar to bettas. You could do a male/female combo but females are dull colored and rarely sold in the common fish trade.

azmodan, thank you good to know!

I'm really looking for fish that do well in pairs or more. Any you would suggest?

Pair of German blue rams for sure. They can get territorial when they're breeding but they're great in a 20L. You could also check out some apistogramma species like apistogramma cacatuoides or apistogramma borellii.

Edit: There are variations of GBRs too, such as gold rams, electric blue, etc. There is also the Bolivian ram which is hardier but less colorful. IMO you might as well go with a GBR.