New 29 Gallon Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sicarius

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,
Firstly, I'm glad I've finally found a forum that seems to have people that know what they are talking about.

Now, to get to the point. I am still new to aquarium keeping, and started off with a 10 gallon tank, which I regret. I am looking to upgrade to a 29 gallon tank in the next month or so. I will be trying to do a fishless cycle on it before adding my current 10g residents and purchasing new specimens.

The setup I am contemplating is:
Tank: Aqueon 29 Gallon
Heater: Aqueon Pro 150
Filter: Fluval 205
Hood: Aqueon Versa Top Twin Tube 30"
Lighting: Aqueon Twin Tube Strip 30"

I also plan on adding an air stone or similar unit for better oxygenation.

Is there anything else one would recommend I take a look at?

The current fish setup is a school of 6 Tiger Barbs. I realize the 10g is too small for them, which is one reason I want to upgrade. I was considering some Yo-Yo Loaches or Otocinclus for the bottom portion of the tank once it is ready, but have been unable to find a top portion fish that is to my liking.

Can anyone suggest a compatible breed, or have any other suggestions for the bottom residents? I would like to keep the school of barbs, and potentially add a few more.

I'm not one of those that really know what they are talking about, but welcome to AA!

Looking forward to following the upgrade!