Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-27-2011, 09:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

New 5 gal Beta tank Setup/Help

Hi, I'm just beginning a tank for a beta, I currently have a piece of driftwood in the tank with a small plant growing out of it, also a fake plant and a little fake sea anemone. however the water is kind of murky, and I do not know how to fix it. I also would like to add some live plants, but i do not know how to do it. any help or suggestions they would be greatly appreciated
Thannks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0043.jpeg
Views:	63
Size:	164.9 KB
ID:	53964  

Old 09-27-2011, 09:21 PM   #2
Look It Up

Hi! Welcome to AA!

First thing you'll want to do is properly cycle the tank. There's a link in my signature called "new empty tank;" read it and it'll guide you. You'll need a bottle of pure ammonia (ACE hardware brand is best) and an API Master Test kit (don't get the strips; they cost more in the long-run and aren't reliable).

The cloudiness will go away in time. Is that real driftwood? It might be the tannins from the wood if you didn't soak it well enough. It'll go away as you do water changes, don't worry about it.

As for live plants, they need a lot of light, a T5 lighting system might be best. 2 watts per gallon I think is the minimum. You may want to do some research on the Freshwater Planted forum here and get some more info. Good luck! Nice tank!

librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via Yahoo to Atxpunx
As for adding new plants, just wedge um in the gravel. It will be a lot of trial and error. So get in there and make some mistakes
Old 09-27-2011, 09:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie