New 55 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shimano

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just bought my first big fish tank. Its a 55 Gallon. I bought some of the bacteria stuff to put in there. I have 6 molly's in there right now. I plan on getting some live plants tomorrow. I would like to get a couple of bamboo in there. I am just wonder how long it should take for environment to take hold. I would also like to know how many fish I should put in the tank after the environment takes hold. I would like put some shrimp in there and some other bottom feeders. I am very new to this fish tank idea, and I am just looking for suggestions and and info I can get. Because I would like to make everything last as long as I can.

I did run the tank for about a day before I put the fish in. When I asked at the store the told me it was a good idea to put a few fish in to help the cycle. Was that a bad idea?

You can do it like that, but the fish are going to go through a lot with it. You should have done a fishless cycle and then after it was complete put the fish in. But this way can be done as well so don't worry :)! Who can help this guy out with fish in the cycle?

Well, cycling with fish will cause the cycle to last longer than it would had you decided to go fishless. Fish produce waste, which produces ammonia. Ammonia is toxic to fish. Once there is ammonia in the tank, bacteria will begin to produce and "eat" the ammonia, producing nitrite (also toxic to fish). The nitrite will then be broken down by bacteria and form nitrate (not toxic to fish in smaller ppms [20 or so]).