New 60 G Tank Set up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quinnifer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there,
I am a newbie needing some help! I just bought a 60 gallon tank and am trying to decide what to stock it with. I currently have 6 zebra danios in there to get a cycle going. This is kind of the direction I'm thinking of going:

1x zebra pleco
1x ruby shark
1 x angelfish
4 x glassfish
2 x kissing gourami
4 x galaxy rasbora
3 x boesemans rainbow fish

I love the pink kissing gourami but I don't really want to limit my tank with such a large fish. I have read that there are dwarf pink kissers called balloon gouramis but haven't found a lot of info about them. Does anyone have experience with these guys and their ideal tank mates?

Thanks in advance for any help!!

First off Galaxy rasboras (aka Celestial Pearl Danio's) are nano fish and would not survive long in a tank with that stock. They are very shy and would be outcompeted for food.

You should also increase the number of Glass fish and Rainbowfish to a minimum of 6 each and in that size tank at least 8 of each would be good. Be sure to get 1m to 2 females in the Rainbowfish.

I've kept Angels over 30 years and have never kept them with Kissing Gourami's so I don't know if that would be a good mix since I've heard from friends who keep them that they are very aggressive. Maybe do a couple Angels and a pair or 1m and 2f Pearl Gourami. I have kept Angels and Pearl Gourami's together.