New Guy Needing Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Seeker

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey Everyone. I hope I am posting in the right place...

My name is Jacob and I am new to the world of Aquarium kept fish.
I don't know to much but what I have read via the web and this site, asking people at the pet stores, and what I remember when I kept a Gold Fish in a bowl when I was 10. HA!

That being said, I am sure you all can help me beyond belief-

My girlfriend and I decided that we wanted to get a small tank for our new apartment and she picked out a Fluval Chi. (Click for images)

Again, I know nothing really about tanks or filtration or anything before I bought it, all I knew was that it was the perfect size for our little apartment and the girlfriend liked the look.

Before I ask my questions, I want to answer some that may come up for those not familiar with the Chi.
(Some info taken from site)
Size: 5 Gallons
Filtration:
"The Fluval chi utilizes a full three stage mechanical, chemical, and biological filter, specifically designed to prevent water bypass, provide clear water, and promote a healthy nano living environment. Two separate filtration media are available for the chi: the foam pad and filter pad. The foam pad should remain in the filter to foster biological growth while the filter pad removes finer debris and chemical impurities through carbon filtration." (Thats all I know. I don't remember exact specs...trying to find them.) Whats unique is the filtered water bubbles back out of the filter like a fountain at the top.
LIGHTING:
"The Fluval chi features two separate cool-white LED lighting units: a 12 LED submersible light unit illuminates the aquarium from the bottom of the filtration box while a second set of LEDs shines upward and lights the water as it flows back into the aquarium."