New Member and Tank - Fish are Dying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sian0607

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I have a 30 gallon freshwater tank that I set up a month ago. This week all of my fish are dying! Need some help with keeping the rest alive!

get a test kit first and check all the parameters (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH..etc)
what do you have in the tank and what sizes are they
need details for people here to help you
and relax we have all been through this before just read up as much as you can and the most important thing...be patient
man i sound like an expert...but im not im a newbie like you

Hi Kangster,
Here is the set-up: 30 gallon freshwater. Started out with 2 dolphin catfish (had them for 2 months in a smaller tank), 1 Upside Down Catfish, 1 Spotted Catfish, 1 Marbled Angelfish, 2 unknown (forgot what they are). They were fine until I added 3 new fish last week: 2 Clown Loaches and 1 more Marbled Angel. All of the fish in the tank are about 2 -3 inches in length. So after I introduced the new fish, they started dying one by one. The new clown loach died first and the other Clown is sbarely alive with fuzzy spots (ICH?). the other two dish had the spots too. Now two other fish look like they are getting the symptoms: Fuzzy spots, lethargy, lack of appetite.
The local aquarium store gave me fungal meds for the water which I added a day ago. I will get a test kit today to check the parameters as you suggested and I just raised the temp by 1 degree today. Thanks for the quick response!!

Fuzzy spots doesn't sound like Ich. Ich looks more like a grain of salt here and there.
Lets see what your water parameters are.
Take a water sample to the pet store when you go to pick up the test kit. They should be glad to test it for you. That way you can confirm their results with your own when you get home.

Hi Missileman,