New one gallon tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Atreides

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a college student, though I live at home, I could move depending on various things. I wanted something to bring a little life to my room and I have always been fond of fish, even though I haven't own fish since I was a little kid and my parents took care of them. All of this considered and being on a slim budget, I decided to get a one gallon kit (Hawkeye AquaView PLUS) from Wal-Mart that came with an underground filter, airator and diffuser, and a 7 watt light. I really like Neon Tetras and have been doing a lot of research and am frankly quite confused.

I have seen anywhere from 1 to 3 inches of fish per gallon. I have also read that the entire scheme is totally bogus. I read that Neons are happiest in schools and that at minimum should be kept in a school of 5 to 6. Also, I have come across that new tanks lack the required bacteria to maintain nitrate and ammonia levels and that fish should be add very slowly at a rate of 3 fish a week or so. Further reading reveal that Neon Tetras are naturally from Northern South America and that they live towards the bottom of small rivers that are filled with plants so they prefer subdued light and a fair amount of plants.