New owner questions (mainly water changes).

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SpaceButler

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi. My name's Mike. I'm new to fish and brand new to the forum here.

Brief history: I got a 10 gallon tank on a whim in mid-October, with it I got some painted glass fish (4). It wasn't till after I bought then that I learned what "painted" meant (yeah, I'm an idiot) and was appalled by the thought of the painted fish genre. To no great surprise, those fish died and I made a new start with a pleco and 2 oscars.

Another tidbit of information I missed was that O's grow to about 12-14"... But don't think I'm a sadist! I'm searching everyday for a good deal on a 55 gallon (at least); as for now, neither Oscar is over 2 inches, and they seem quite comfortable. If I'm not able to move them by the time I think they need it, I'll see they get to a comfortable tank even if it means selling them.

The important thing is that aquaria (proper term?) has become an instant obsession with me, and I would like some help with tank care.

The main question I have is on possible harms of too-frequent water changes. I use a dechlor and let the water sit for hours before adding it to my tank. I don't find the changes a chore, in fact, the idea of getting my little guys fresh water makes me want to change water all the time. My fear is that changing too often could be harmful. I can understand the harm of changing too much at once, if I were to change, say, 10% every day, is that just way too much?

In addition, my water will get cloudy for no apparent reason, fix it self in about a week and a half, then get cloudy again. Am I maybe cleaning too much and making it recycle? Do I need to do something chemically to the tank? I'm going to have the parameters checked today, so I can post those later.