Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-05-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
New tank

Yesterday, I decorated and filled my new 75 gal tank. The filter( marine land for up to 90 gal) and the heater are working fine. I had a previously established tank that I put a few rocks and about 2-3 gallons of water into the new tank. About how long till I can put my convict cichlid in? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1713259226.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	98895  
__________________

__________________
Zkrush2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
You really need some of the filter media, it has more bacteria than the water. You need an API freshwater test kit to. This may help.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/the-al...ing/Page1.html
__________________

__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Take some o the filter media from your other filter that you used on the other tank. Or get some from a friend who has a well established tank. Like the other poster stated, also a API test kit is gonna be needed. Where are your fish now? What size tank are they in? Can you run both filters on the old for a bit? Then when you move the fish over just move both filters over to the 75g. You'll need the master test kit to check parameters to make sure you don't go through a mini cycle. But don't freak of you do, it happens.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:28 PM   #4
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
So is this an upgrade to a current tank or is this a second tank?

If it's an upgrade, just move the filter from the old tank to the new one and run it alongside the new filter for at least a month before you remove the old (or you can just move the media from the old filter to the new one and then if there's room left fill it with new media) and you can move the fish right over.

If it's an additional tank you can take some media from your other tank (as long as it's fully cycled and stable) and add it to the new tank's filter and add your fish. Just monitor levels in both tanks daily for at least two weeks. If ammonia and/or nitrite spikes in either tank, just do some extra water changes until things settle down.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.