new tank, betta question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cghill

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just bought a new tank from someone off of ebay. Its is an already established tank, and looks like its about 40 gallon. First of all let me list the fish that it came with.

1 6" cichlid
1 8" black shark
1 8" pleco
1 serpae tetra
2 cory cats
1 3" catfish
2 3" giant danios
1 red tailed shark
1 2" looks like a cichlid, I'll post pics later
3 2" unidentified fish
2 blue gourami
3 looks like a mix between silver dollar and albino barb
3 raspboras
1 ruby barb

first of all, this seems fairly overstocked to me, and I don't understand why he had 2 8" fish in the same tank, but I'm a newbie. do u think it would be wise to return the pleco and black shark to the lfs and get some corys and more fish for the schooling fish such as serpae tetra and giant danios?