New tank cycling help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gauriemma

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all newbie here. Luv the site. I have 2 tanks, 55 & 75. My 55 im doing cichlids. Its cycling now. Its been 1 month. i have feeder fish in now no others. My help i need is my ammonia is at 2ppm and nitrItes are high 5ppm. How am i doing the water is slightly cloudy. Im using sand for bottom and rocks for decor. Chemicals i have on hand are nutrafin aqua plus tap water conditioner, and Prime seachem. What should i be doing now besides waiting. Water changes? adding chems. Oh yeah my filtration is a wet/dry i have a 700gph pump below with bioballs not drilled it has overflow. Any help would be great. Im anxious for it to cycle and learn from my mistakes. I want to start my 75 soon too.:)

Seachem Prime is a tap water conditioner also so you only need to use one of them. i prefer Prime. Right now you should be planning out what type of cichlids you are going to add to the tank and waiting for the ammonia and nitrites to drop to 0ppm. You can also be planning on what you want to do with the 75g tank. Lots of reading and research on fish diseases and treatments is a good thing too. better to be prepared on what to do then to have to react and lose time finding out what to do.

Take care of the fish you have with lots and lots and lots of water changes. It shouldn't matter if they're feeder fish or $200 saltwater fish IMO...they're animals who's care you're directly responsible for.

Sacrificing a few "hardy" fish for the sake of cycling your tank is an old-school methodology...and since we've learned that doing water changes doesn't effect cycling time...there's no reason to make your fish suffer.

Check out this guide...try to lower your ammo and no2 to .25...and try to keep it at that level until the tank is cycled.