Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2020, 01:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
New Tank Cycling - No ammonia, high nitrites and high nitrates

I have had my tank 2 weeks (I know a short time), and I am doing a fishless cycle and I have been adding 3-4pppm ammonia every 2/3 days. Last 3/4 days when I have done my tests the Ammonia is at 0ppm but Nitries are up at 8ppm and Nitrates 80ppm. They don't seem to be coming down.

Do I do a water change to bring them down? If so how much?

Do I keep adding Ammonia? 1-2ppm?

Or do I just leave it now?

My tank is a Juwel Rio 180. I have removed the carbon filter after a week and am adding Seachem Flourish twice a week for my crips, anubias, amazon sword and something else (can't remember the name), I also have a healthy amount of algae growing on all my plants and 2 pieces of drift wood. PH is 7/7.5, temp fluctuates from 25.5 to 26.5 celsius, KH is 5dKH and GH is 7dGH.

I am very unsure as every site/video seems to say something different.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
MartynC95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 02:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 415
Test water parameters everyday. If your ammonia drops below 1ppm then dose back upto 2ppm. Keep doing this until you see 0ppm ammonia and nitrite 24 hours after redosing. Then your aquarium is cycled. Big water change is then needed to bring nitrates down to 10ppm or below and you can add fish.

If your nitrite gets higher than your test kit can read then do a water change to bring them down to readable levels (say 50% change to half nitrite levels). Nitrates wont ever come down through cycling, only through water changes, so dont worry about nitrates until you want to add fish.
__________________

__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 02:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Thanks very much! I will keep adding the ammonia
__________________
MartynC95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ate, cycling, high nitrate, high nitrates, high nitrites, new tank, nitrate, nitrates, nitrite, nitrites, tan, tank, tank cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with fishless cycling: no ammonia, high nitrites/nitrates Fishlova Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 08-15-2017 08:18 PM
Ammonia gone, high Nitrites and Nitrates, I am a beginner and could use some help! ArcadianPines Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 08-15-2017 01:04 PM
No ammonia, HIGH nitrites and nitrates erythropoiesis Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 11-24-2016 09:36 AM
New change gave high Nitrites, Nitrates, and Ammonia Nathanpopp Cichlid Discussion 12 03-04-2013 07:30 AM
Fishless cycling- high nitrites and nitrates? gialdino171 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 02-10-2012 08:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.