New tank help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mth97

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a little new at this so please be nice [emoji23] I have a 28L tank and have been running it for a week ! All levels are perfect ph 7.5 , GH 180 , KH 120, nitrate 0 , nitrite 0 !

I currently have a pearl scale goldfish I am wanting to move into the new tank ? I know my tank might not be fully cycled yet, would it be okay to move my pearls scale into the new tank yet ?

Hey, welcome :)
How have you cycled it? Without the addition of ammonia your tank wouldn't of been doing anything other than sitting there unfortunately.. Also a 28L tank is way too small for any type of goldfish, let alone a pearlscale as they can get to 8 inches long!

A week is still early in a cycle, but as mentioned, without a source of ammonia it won't progress

What is the goldfish in now? If the 28l is bigger, and you have Prime, your goldfish may be better off....they do produce a lot of waste and more water is better than less

I would suggest a bacterial supplement if you are in a hurry to move the goldfish. Seachem Stability and Seachem Prime work great together to keep the tank safe while you establish a bacterial colony

The goldfish will get big fast mind you, so if you can save for an upgrade later, the fish will be healthier for it :)

Thank you all so much for your advice! Yes I am wanting to move my goldfish quickly because the tank is bigger , I have already put in QuickStart when I started the tank !

Yes the 28L tank I just bought u was told would be well big enough for a goldfish at the pet store which is very frustrating I have spent so much money trying to get things right ! And the space I have is very limited I live in a very small space [emoji23]

28l is about 7 1/2 gallon