New tank- My pH will not go up???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rfin93

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey Guys,

First time poster as I am new to the forum. I have just set up my 34l fluval flex fresh water Planted aquarium.

I am new to aquarium keeping, but I live with my sister who has kept aquariums and reptiles for many years.

I set up the tank approximately 3 weeks ago and started with a fishless cycle, with only some wisteria, decorations, decorative substrate etc.

I dosed the tank with tropical salts, quick start and stress guard. From the beginning our tap water has always had a very low pH, but I dosed the pH as recommended on the instructions and waited for it to shift.

About a week later, my impatience got the best of me and I added two balloon Molly’s, a glass shrimp and a nerite snail, as well as a few foreground plants, baby dwarf tears, anubias nana etc. From day one, girl molly never seemed overly happy and was very lethargic so I bought a more comprehensive tests and also pH 7.5 salts thinking it would help more than the general tropical salts.

The shrimp and the snail seemed to only last a day or two so I went into stress mode.

The more extensive test revealed a whole host of other problems. My kH, gH and pH were all way under where they needed to be. So I did a 20% water change and redosed the tank with the stress guard, fresh start and pH 7.5. The fish seemed to perk up so I checked the levels a few hours later and the gH and kH levels had seemed to improve but the pH was still sitting around 6.8.