New Tank, New Fish, pH & Ammonia Problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wickedsteele

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I'm new to being a fish owner. We have a red cap oranda baby. We got him last Monday (Feb 21). Following the instructions of the "fish expert" at the pet store, I set up the tank and ran the filter for an hour before I put the fish in. For a few days now, the tank has been pretty cloudy. I did a 15% water change with prepared bottled water from the pet store (which is also the water that I used to fill the tank in the first place). I believe he was overfed the first two or three days, so there's some food particles at the bottom that stirred up when I changed the water.

I've just tested the water and found that the pH is reading about 8.0-8.5 and the ammonia is 0.2-1.0. Meanwhile, the nitrate and nitrite readings are great - both are at 0. The hardness is showing at 75, so soft, but not too soft.

I'm wondering what I should do. Will the pH and ammonia balance themselves out naturally after the tank has been established a little longer, or do I need to get that tank water completely changed and clean up that gravel with all that foodstuff down there? I don't want to harm the fish, so I want to be sure I make the right decisions and don't rush into anything, but I also don't want to wait around only to find him belly up.

If I am to do a full cleaning and replace 100% of the water (I wouldn't change the filter at this time - only the water and clean the gravel), what do I need to do with the fish during that time and how long should I wait before placing him back into the tank?

I'm sorry for all the questions. It's been a very long time since I've owned a fish and back in those days, I wasn't the one caring for it.

Thanks, in advance!