New Ten Gallon Tank Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

afurlow96

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got a new ten gallon tank starting kit, the exact kit i got was right here - Aqueon » Basic Aquarium Kit | Products , a ten gallon tank that comes with a lid, 2 iridescent bulbs, a filter, and i believe aerator. I have some additional questions to help start my tank.

I apologize if this post gets lengthy, I'm new to the aquarium world and have a bunch of questions.

I bought 5 pounds of sand and 5 pounds of gravel, so the bottom of the tank is a mixture of the two, mostly sand and bottom and gravel on top as i figured that would hold the sand down better, I got a couple of water plants as well, and the lady at Petco said they would survive just fine under the two iridescent lightbulbs.
From what i understand, i am supposed to keep the tank empty of fish for a couple of days, so right now it is full of water and the plants, as well as water treatment, there is also a filter and aerator running but i am concerned with the actual power of the two. Aqueon » Aqueon QuietFlow? Power Filter | Products That is the filter / aerator i have, an Aqueon Quietflow 20 (says its suitable for up to 20 gallons and mine is 10 so it should be great, right?). The water plants also came with the roots wrapped up in sponges, i left the sponges on the roots and just buried them under some gravel and sand to anchor them down, i hope thats all good. Should i be changing water regularly while there are no fish and it goes through this cycle, or just let it run solo for about a week, will there be enough filtration with what i currently have, will there be enough oxygen, and will the plants survive?