New to fish keeping - help? :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishygrace

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi!! I am pretty new to fish keeping. I have a 10 gallon with three goldfish rescued from a bio experiment, some java moss, and some hornwort. (I can't upgrade to a bigger tank right now but the goldfish are small now, and I'll be able to upgrade eventually. I do know that they grow really big though. Hoping to keep them happy and healthy until they get big!!)

Do you have any suggestions as to what filter is best for a 10 gallon tank? I have a tetra whisper 10i right now but have not heard great things about it. Cheaper is better obviously but I want something that won't fall apart and it needs to be very very quiet, as I'm in college and don't want to annoy my roommate once school opens again. So I can spend a bit if needed.

I'm thinking about adding in a few cloud mountain minnows and nerite snails. Suggestions as to where to order from? I have to order online for obvious reasons.

I also heard that you can use something to filter the tank that doesn't require you to change cartridges? I am super unsure as to what that is, exactly, but if anyone could explain that would be amazing!

And general tips would be cool too. Sorry for the long post and thank you so much for the help! :)

I've heard the tetra whisper gets pretty loud over time. I usually go with aqueon brand things but with 3 goldfish in a small aquarium you will be doing a lot of water changes anyway.
I wouldn't add any more fish right now either. Goldfish are messy and produce a lot of waste. Try feeding them only once a day, if you do it at the same time you'll never forget or overfeed.

Do you know what type of goldfish you have? Just regular comet goldfish or one the fancy types?