New to Freshwater Tanks...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DreaminginBlue

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi,
I'm rather new to keeping a large, filtered, freshwater tank. I bought my 26 gallon bow-front tank two years ago, but wasn't able to set it up. (We had a big earthquake and I was too paranoid to :nono: ).

I have had many bettas in the past and have done well with them, but I've never had a real filtered tank, all of them were in tanks that weren't filtered. I currently have one betta, my beloved Calvin, and really enjoy him. (My brave fishie survived the quake- I found his tank halfway off the counter and thanked my lucky stars he was okay! :) ) Anyways, the little guy inspired me to get another tank and set it up, too.

I finally set my 26 gallon up today. Though I did tons of hours of research when I got the tank, I can't remember half of it and I'm not sure where to start.

I currently have the filter and lighting set up. It came in a kit. I'll set up the heater tomorrow. I have gravel and some cool rocks in it, too.

I'm a little bit unsure about how to plant it, how to cycle it, how to acclimate new fish, etc... in short, I'm unsure about everything. I suppose I'm just scared of messing up royally and killing/hurting my fish or doing something wrong.

I want to cycle it as quickly and safely as possible, as I'm free for a week and can closely monitor it if I were to be able to put fish in it, but I don't know if it can be livable that soon. I'm leaning towards fishless cycling due to some great advice I got.

I also am worried about planting my tank. I don't know how, or what plants to get, or how to make sure they don't die.

With regards to inhabitants, I have them picked out but don't know how to acclimate them when I get them. I want some shrimp, likely cherry shrimp, some corydoras catfish, and some guppies.