New to Hobby. Starting off w/ 29 gal. Advice Wanted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zume

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello aquarium people,

I am thinking of starting up a 29 gal. tank & was wondering what would work for the tank I want. I am a student, and don't have a whole lot of money at hand so cheap suggestions are a plus, but I can flex budget if needed.

I am wanting to buy a kit, seeing as its probably the cheapest route too go. The one I want is the aquaculture 29 gallon kit I found at Walmart. It doesn't look like the best quality, but it seems good enough for my cheap taste; however I was going to upgrade the filter to an aquaclear 50 sometime soon after getting tank.

I live only a short drive from wetspottropicalfish, which I heard was a very reputable LFS. The fish I want to get our a small school of cardinal tetra and school of rummynose (if I had to only choose one, it would be rummynose). I also want a school of maybe 4 panda/skunk cory, an bristlenose pleco and an Giant Blue Wood Shrimp. For these guys, I want a planted tank with some river rock, caves, and some driftwood.

If you fine fish people :fish1: have any suggestions/ or help as too how I should set up my aquarium please let me know.

:thanks:

If you want to go super cheap, check out craigslist, people are constantly selling setups for cheap. If you go with the kit that's fine too.

Read about cycling first. It's what your going to be doing for probably around a month before you even get fish. This is also the time you can set up plants/decor.