New to the fishkeeping hobby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Moeftie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

Im new to the fishkeeping hobby, 5 weeks ago i got a Fluval Flex 15 gallon and am now thinking about what fish to keep and looking for some extra info and guidelines.

My initial thought is to keep 10 Galaxy Rasbora, 5 Amano Shrimp and 1-2 Nerite snails.

Would this be overstocking it or not?

My water Parameters and tank info:

PH: around 7.0 ( i add CO2 so it tends to change a little bit )

GH: 8-9

KH: 4-4.5
Temperature: Swings around 23°C ( 73°F) to 24°C ( 75°F), when the lights come on it heats up the water, heater had 0 work besides some cold winter nights we had ( its set to 22°C/ 71.6°F )

My lights run from 12pm to 8pm ( stock light + Fluval Aquasky 2.0 )

CO2 runs from 11am to 7pm

I use RO water that i remineralize with Salty Shrimp GH/KH+ to about 185-200TDS

Amount of water in the tank: 45l ( 11.89 gallons )
Weekly water change of 10l ( 2.64 gallon )

Pump: Eheim Compacton 600

Substrate: Ada Bacter 100, Tropica Substrate capped off with Flourite Black Sand
Decorations: 1 large piece of Corbo Root + 3 pieces of Wild Rhino Stone

So far the cycle isnt fully complete yet, im using Dr. Tim's Ammonium Chloride, getting around 2ppm ammonia and 1.5 ppm nitrite converted to nitrates in 24h ( is 2ppm enough for this tank size and stock id like to keep ? )

I "pimped" out the filter chambers with some 3D printed mods i bought on Etsy ( ill add links to these )

Using coarse foam at the filter intakes, then theres a medium coarse foam followed by some filter floss and 3 small media chambers filled with Biohome Gravel in the 1st compartment.

In the second compartment a media basket holding Biohome Ultimate and Biohome Gravel, in total there is around 1kg of media ( 2.2 lbs ) in the tank.