New to this

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sammm11

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everybody! I'm a 17 year old girl who just got her first 10g tank. I'm extremely new at this and don't really know what I'm doing. I keep my temperature at around 80 degrees and have a bala shark and a parrot cichlid. Any advice for me?

Welcome to the hobby. I hope you enjoy it cuz it's totally addictive! 10gallon is a great starter tank & they can be awesome but I might have bad news for you.

1st - Bala Sharks grow huge (over a foot) & have a minimum tank requirement of 70 gallons

2nd - Parrot Cichlid (if its the kind I think it is) grow to 8" & have a minimum tank requirement of 50 gallons.

You might want to look at returning them? If the store that sold you the tank also sold you those fish they should be held responsible.

The best advice I can give you is always always research the type of fish before you buy them. I stand in the isle of every pet store with my iPhone & I google everything. It will save you money & heartache in the end. Good site for you the check out is www.liveaquaria.com

Good luck!

Thanks! Could I keep the tank with the fish until I have to upgrade or should I get new fish? Cause I spent so long at the pet stores deciding because I like the cool looking fish I don't want little fish either you know what I mean?