newbie getting 55 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lorihallfrisch

Aquarium Advice Regular
HI. I think I did an intro somewhere. I am new to tanks. It all started by getting 2 -39 cent goldfish for my little fountain. I soon found they were dirty and crowded. I added a 10 gallon aquarium (a freebie that came with a 3 " fancy gold fish.I bought a lite and air pump amd filter for them and now am hooked. Wil be picking up an older 55 gallon marineland with stand for $100. I actually wanted bigger but think it was a good deal and not bad for a starter tank??
so my uestion..with a 10 gallon that is now staying very clean and the 2 little goldfish and the bigger fancy one..and a new to me 55 gal tank..what would you do? I really want some tropical fresh water fish. Angel fish for sure. I do not want to overstock but I want it lively. and I have heard that mixing goldfish and tropical is a no no.
Do you think i can keep my goldfish in the 10 and then do rtropical in the 55? What woul dbe a good combination with angel fish? thanks so much. This is just plain fun!

I vote no in keeping the goldies in a tank that size. Its 20G for the first and 10G for everyone after that. either rehome the goldies or put them in the 55.

I may have to rehome them or buy another 40 gallon tank. Can see how this can become an addiction. as for the tropical tank..I looked up a link and have found some fish i like.and some i don't. any advice on them appreciated.I looked up compatible with angel fish. didnt like mollies, plato or pleckos. or corey
did like tetras rainbow raspore swordtails
not on the compatible list liked coaches hatchets and loved discus almost as much as angel fish
soooooo help?

lorihallfrisch said: