newbie intro & questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tracygh

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey there!
I have been cruising this site for a few days, and let me say, you guys ROCK!

I am fairly new to this whole fishy-thing, and didn't realize there was so much to it! I wonder if you could help me ID some of my fish. I have three zebra somethings...they are long and slim with black and silver stripes running the length of their bodies...and they swim FAST!!! What are they?
Then I have these catfish-like albino bottom dwellers, any guesses?
My pregnant guppy looks ready to pop any day, and one of my long slim zebra things isn't very slim LOL.
All my new angelfish have ich, so I have to start treatment tonight, ugh.

ok, that's it for me, talk to you all soon!
Tracy

Ich is a pain, i just got through battling it myself, but had success with raising the temps slowly to about 86 and adding aquarium salt.

Did I mention that you guys rock? :lol:
I checked all those links posted, and yep, those are my fishies :D
All the Speedy Bobs are Zebra Danios, and my albino scum-suckers are infact cory cats. Very cool.
Ich claimed 2 of my angels this afternoon :( We are in the process of cleaning and sterilizing the tank and accessories. Right now all the accessories (lighthouse, castle, rock formation, fake plant, filter-minus motor) are in the dishwasher. I even had a brainstorm about the gravel...We put it into a pair of knee-high pantyhose and used food-bag clips to close them, and they're in the dishwasher too! When this cycle is done, I will run it a second time with no detergent to rinse.
When I get the whole thing back together, is there anything I shpuld be mindful of? How long should I let it sit before re-introducing my fishies?