Newbie Some Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kevlar21

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

I have just got into setting up a freshwater tank and need some advice. I am a complete novice, so my tank is only about 1.5 gallons to start off with.

Firstly can someone please help identify what kind of fish this is? I have attached a picture to this thread.

Also I have attached a picture of 2 substrates, one is aqua soil and the other is small gravels. What is the best way to lay it out? Soil below with the gravel on top? or not use the gravels at all?

I plan to grow plants that I will buy at a later stage, right now I am temporary using artificial plants for decoration. As you can see in the last picture, I made a mess of it and both substrates are mixed together.

Please help.

Thanks

Attachments

• Fish.jpg
    Fish.jpg
    257.1 KB · Views: 71
  • 20150201_132556.jpg
    20150201_132556.jpg
    183.4 KB · Views: 70
  • 20150201_132643.jpg
    20150201_132643.jpg
    204.4 KB · Views: 58
Hi, welcome to AA. Can't help on fish ID - did it have a name at the store?

Attached some articles below which may help. A 1.5 gallon tank is unfortunately very small and not suitable for the majority of fish. The fish get too large to swim in and the tank chemistry can go wrong quickly.

It's actually easier to keep a larger tank so I'd suggest a 10 gal minimum (it's also more fun!).

A larger tank and a water chemistry kit (see links below on cycling) will get you well on your way.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...ou-get-started-with-your-aquarium-154837.html

AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor