Newbie to the site and world of fish!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andyb2683

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I’m a newbie to the site and we have just purchased a brand new, shiny Aquavista panoramic water aquarium for our office. All of us are novices in terms of looking after fish, so we want to make sure we do everything correctly. It’s now on the wall and we are just about ready to go. We have been to the local aquarium and got some advice from the people there and our plans are:

1) Clean the tank with a clean cloth and fresh water (it may have some glue based resin in there from the build) – sypher the water out
2) Fill the tank with fresh, clean water (also using a product to counter the chlorine in the water). Also put in some decorations and an airstone.
3) Leave the tank to settle for 5 days
4) Put one breed of fish in, followed by 2-3 others over the next few days

Is there anything there that people would change, or do differently? And more importantly, is there anything we have forgotten?!?

On a separate note, we also got given a smaller aquarium (an Aquavista 500). Unfortunately this doesn’t come with an automatic fish feeder, and in our office I fear for the fish! Is there any chance that there are a species of fish that doesn’t require regular feeding?

Thanks in advance for all of your help.