Newbie's attempts at altering pH and KH... any ideas?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

statisticsnerd

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First of all, please be forewarned that I am a complete newbie when it comes to maintaining an aquarium, excluding a few goldfish. :)

I have a 20-gallon tank set up that I would like to add some neon tetras to and maybe a pleco to keep the algae in control. After doing extensive research on the Internet, I have learned that tetras tend to do best in slightly acidic, soft water (please correct me if I'm wrong).

After setting up the tank how I want it, with the filter running and decorations arranged, I let it run for a couple of days before testing the water. Keep in mind that there are no fish in the tank as of now and the water is fresh, straight out of the tap. Also, the decorations are all "aquarium safe". Anyway, I use a test strip from Petsmart (5-in-1 nitrate, nitrite, GH, KH, pH) and everything is fine except for the KH and pH, which are both at the high end of the scale (8.4 pH, 300 ppm KH). The general hardness test amazingly reads "soft" (75 ppm GH).

Being the novice I am, I bought some pH down and ended up using a whole bottle 8O on the tank over a two day period. The pH would lower to 7.2-7.4 but rebound to where it was before in just a few hours.

After having tried and failed at chemically altering the pH and KH, I drained all of the water, afraid that I had perhaps over-medicated. After reading up on peat moss's ability to soften the water and lower pH, I committed to going with that method. After buying some sphagnum peat moss, I filled up a colander with it and poured hot water over the moss and filtered the juice through a towel into a bucket.