Nitrite Levels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sarahkayt

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all. Im somewhat new to the fish aquarium life, so please bear with me.
About a month ago I purchased a 60gal tank. I was about 3 weeks into the cycle (I added some filter media from a turtle tank we have to help it along) then went on a small 4 day trip. When i came back, ammonia was 0, nitrites were at 2, nitrates were at 20-40. The next morning i tested and nitrites went down to about the .5 range, everything else the same.
I may have rushed it, but I went to my LFS and picked up 2 Orandas. I didnt feed the fish that day. The next morning i checked the levels. Ammonia was still at 0, nitrates were still at 20-40, but nitrites had shot up to 5 ppm. I thought maybe it was because i had added the fish. So I did a 25% water change. Again i fed the fish but a very small amount. The next morning the levels we the same, but the fish seemed fine so I did not do a water change, and fed them again. I tested my tap and there are no nitrites present.
The next morning the ammonia was at .25, nitrite still at 5, nitrates still at 20-40. I knew the ammonia was from the feedings and fish poo, but I worried about the nitrites not going down even after large water changes. Again, the fish seemed ok but the little one did spend more time at the top of the tank. I decided against feeding but did a 50% change. Someone suggested adding a nitrifying solution and continuing the water changes until it lowers.