Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2020, 12:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
Nitrite test results from API

So I thought my tank was pretty much cycled. Iím able to convert 2pp ammonia to nitrate in 24 hours according to my api master test kit. However I decided to double check in and bought some tetra test strips just to compare the 2 and the strips are showing 10+ ppm nitrite??? Thatís a big difference to 0 ppm nitrite that Iím getting from API?!
__________________

__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 02:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leeatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 327
I would carefully redo the API test to make sure of minimum error . The strips are known to be iffy at times . If you had 10 ppm nitrite the API would show something .
__________________

__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 02:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
I’ve done the API test everyday for 3 days now and it still shows 0.... I don’t get it. I was about to shell out 250 dollars for fish from imperial Tropicals tomorrow but now I’m hesitant... I ordered another nitrite kit on amazon and it’s coming tomorrow so I will use another test... maybe my nitrite test is bad? Which would suck because I just bought the whole master kit back in October and the dates are good till 2023
__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 03:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,011
Hello T...

I don't rely on water testing. Though if I had my choice, I'd use Tetra testing strips. Because, there are too many steps with the chemicals and you have to wait too long for results. You don't need to test the water in a cycling tank if you remove a third of the tank water a couple of times a week for three weeks. This allows the bacteria colony to establish and keeps the tank water in the safe zone for the fish. After the three weeks, you modify your water change to half the water weekly for as long as you have the tank. This more aggressive water change routine will allow you to remove the pollutants well before there's time for them to build up and foul the water.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 03:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
BBradbury that’s the first time I’ve heard of that one lol Theres so many ways to cycle a tank. I added DR Tim’s ammonia to speed up the process and used some tetra safe start plus and it looked like it was working great. I also seeded the tank with some media from my sons 20 gallon tank that’s been running for a year. I guess I’ll wait for this other nitrite kit to come tomorrow and test again
__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 11:41 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,011
T-Dog...

Those chemical bacteria starters can leave you with a tank that's prone to water chemistry swings. I wouldn't trust that stuff. Using something from a reliable, established tank will jump start the cycling process, but you'll need to add fish to the new tank very slowly. Once established, a tank less than 30 gallons could certainly work well with a couple of 50 percent water changes weekly. Remember, a tank with just a few small fish in it still needs most of the water changed regularly if you want to maintain good oxygen and mineral levels in the water.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 11:49 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
I added some more media from my 20 gallon last night and did a 50 percent water change as well. I’ll do another 50 percent change tonight. I’ll keep adding 1 ppm ammonia because it turns it into nitrite within 12 hours and I’m hoping the extra media I added from my 20 gallon will get the nitrite down. I used prime so hopefully that will help the bacteria catch up and convert it to nitrate. I also have another API nitrite test coming in the mail today so I’ll see if my previous API nitrite test is bad. I’m playing on addding 6- 3” male peacock cichlids once I know I’m cycled
__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 11:51 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
Btw I have 2 A/C 70s running along with a sponge filter so my circulation is pretty good. The tank is a 60 gallon BTW
__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 06:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
Turns out my test kit was bad! ��
__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 07:56 PM   #10
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 16,145
Thatís no good on test kit! Any ideas why? Iíve heard of evaporation, etc
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 08:12 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 36
I have no idea and it’s very frustrating because it’s a new kit. This whole time I’m thinking I’m cycled and keep adding ammonia meanwhile my nitrites are at 10+ ppm... just did another 50 percent water change
__________________
T-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 02:30 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
m.j.gomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Farmington, n.m.
Posts: 155
Hello, there is a simple way to check tests. if son's tank is cycled use both tests on it & 1 should give a correct reading. Hope this helps!!!!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Dog View Post
BBradbury thatís the first time Iíve heard of that one lol Theres so many ways to cycle a tank. I added DR Timís ammonia to speed up the process and used some tetra safe start plus and it looked like it was working great. I also seeded the tank with some media from my sons 20 gallon tank thatís been running for a year. I guess Iíll wait for this other nitrite kit to come tomorrow and test again
__________________

__________________
m.j.gomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, nitrite, test, test results

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Test Results (API Freshwater Test Kit) AKLB Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 04-27-2017 11:08 AM
API TEST RESULTS ROUND 4: Please Help Me Analyze... Osage_Winter Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 52 02-23-2011 08:23 PM
First API water test results sjsuper76 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 12-31-2010 11:45 AM
Okay...API Test Results, Round Two: Please Help Analyze, Once More Osage_Winter Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-04-2010 08:01 PM
API test kit showing true results? hamburgler Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-18-2006 06:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.