Nitrites to Nitrates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

richardh

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been running 2 tanks side by side for some 4 months now, 33g and 17g. I cannot seem to get get the 17g cycled. I always have nitrite show up after 4-5 days. I have even moved the much larger filter from the 33g to the 17g, this has made no difference. Incidentally the 33g is still doing fine with the smaller filter!

I should add both are lightly stocked with fish. I have even tried moving almost all fish out of the smaller tank, still Nitrites show up. Tap water has none btw. Never had a problem with ammonia.

Only difference I can see is that I have a small air stone in the 33g and sand rather than gravel. Could the additional oxygenation be converting nitrite to nitrate?

Is there a difference in ph between the 2 tanks? Or is the ph crashing in the smaller tank? What type of sand is in the 33g?

jlk said:
Is there a difference in ph between the 2 tanks? Or is the ph crashing in the smaller tank? What type of sand is in the 33g?

Ph is stable in both tanks at 7.4, never seen a ph crash in either tanks. 33g has sand bought from pets at home, not sure what type it is but very fine. 17g has black pea sized smooth gravel also from the lfs.

Hmm...you have me a bit stumped here. This tank really should be cycled as long as its not overstocked or overfed & the ph is remaining stable. It cant hurt to add some additional aeration to the 17g in the meantime. Since my ph theory has been debunked, hopefully, someone else will have an idea of why this occuring!