Nitrogen Cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Beacious

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to this fish thing, but I really want to get in to it! I just got a 10 gal(with filter, heater, and hood) with an Oranda (Jaramoru) and a Koi (Kon) (they do just fine). And I read the "Nitrogen Cycle" article and I didn't understand it. Can someone PLEASE help?!?!

Thanks, Beacious. :n00b:

Fast and dirty:
To keep dangerous contaminate level down a tank actually needs certain bacteria.
A filter does practically nothing without them. the purpose of filters is to provided palce for said bacteria to grow and a way for it to convert all the water, by a current of some type.

One bacteria, the most important to a new tank converts the most dangerous waste:Ammonia
Ammonia is not only expelled by the living as waste, it is alkso a product of dedecomposing material (food/plant/dead fish).

This first guy turns ammonia into its own waste product: nitrIte. This is also fairly dangerous.
but there is another bacteria that uses this easy supply. So bacteria number two
turns NitrIte into NitAte. Which though dangerous, need a much larger proportion to cause problems.
NitrAte spikes of any large number should almost never be seen if you make your tank water changes in a timely fashion.

This balance is not perpetual. Many things can upset it or change it. But High spikes are rarer in established older tanks of 5-6 months or more unless there has been poor water qualities kept.

Most people lose the most new fish that are in a newly cycling tank. :(

That's the brief and skinny

Here's the short version