number of danios

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moheesviolin

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi. So I'm pretty new to the whole fish thing, we had a tank as a kid that I was not responsible for and I've kept bettas on occasion, and I want to make sure my fishies stay alive and well. I want to keep glofish (zebra danios with the GFP gene) and maybe a couple of the celestial pearl danios (Celestichthys margaritatus).
Can these be kept together since the celestial pearls are a good bit smaller than the zebra danios, and what is a good number of fish for my tank? I have a 20 gallon tank. I was thinking of having 11 fish. Is that too many?

I think they will do fine and I would go 6 of each put the glofish in a week after the others to be sure so the glofish are the new guys in town lol

Go with the glofish first and wait a few months on the celestials. They do a lot better in a well-established tank. They are not as hardy as the glofish, which are pretty easy to keep fish. Make sure to have good swimming space and a good number (6-10 works well) and they will be a great enjoyment.

Welcome to the site :)

I've never personally kept Celestial Pearl Danios, but a good friend of mine keeps them with Glofish and other Danios. He says the CPD's seem overwhelmed by the activity of the Glofish and tend to spend most of their time hiding. I'm not sure if that is an average interaction...but it's definitely his experience.

If you're new to fish-keeping, make sure you read up on cycling! There's a link in my signature you can check out ;-)

Good point to add, CPDs are not the usual super active danio. They tend to be lower to the ground and hide a lot. Lots of plants help to keep them more comfortable. There are many different types of danios out there and all are relatively easy for a shop to order for you.

Thanks all!