Oh Dear, I think I've made a big mistake

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sharz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi
I was in the LFS the other day, and bought a pair of bolivian butterfly's, and a pair of blue rams.
I've been reading bits here and there and now I'm worried that I shouldn't be putting these in my tank with my other fish and these should be in species only tank.
I've got 2 angel fish, 1 bristle nose, 2 silver sharks, 1 pear gourami, 1 corys and 8 neons.
I'm still pretty new at this and LFS said that they are all good community fish, and would be fine. I'm just worried that they wont survive.....
Should I return the butterflys and rams, or will they be OK with the other fish?????

Not familiar with the butterflys but I must agree with Razor as far as the rams go. They are very sensitive and most rams from the LFS are doomed from the start. They are of a weak strain and most likely won't make it past a few months.

If you can find a reputable breeder that has some rams then I would get them. If you can only find them at a chain store or a LFS then I would pass on them.

Once your angels and sharks get big enough the neons will probably be on the menu.

Everything everyone else said is correct. Especially what joy13 said, i dont know if the angelfish will eat them but the sharks definatly will.

I have a large koi angel (~6" tip to tip) in my 30g with some neons (and guppies) and have had no problems with him eating neons. It seems like the guppies are a snack for him when I skip a feeding. I had 7+ males a while back and I'm down to 4 or 5. It seems every weekend I go camping and don't feed for 2 nights he eats one. FWIW.