Protein Build Up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fish924

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

I’m new to the hobby. I have a 20 gallon freshwater tank that is cycled (fish in cycle). I upgraded from a 10 gallon to 20 gallon a couple weeks ago so I am currently still running both filters on the new tank so I don’t lose the beneficial bacteria. (Basically just moved everything over to the new tank). Some dates for reference:

-9/29 my 10 gallon tank was setup (2 weeks later, 2 fish were introduced).
-10/28 converted to 20 gallon tank
-1/1 two additional fish were introduced

*been checking water daily with api master kit. Numbers have been stable since cycling was completed.

We now have 4 fish and I’ve been getting some protein (foam) buildup at the top of my tank. I’ve done 2x weekly gravel cleanings and 50% water changes but it keeps building up daily. Just did a cleaning yesterday and this morning the foam is back. I’m also trying to be careful of overfeeding.

Just looking for advice on what to do about the buildup? How long do I need to continue running the old filter? Should I replcae the filter cartridge? Everything I have read from fish experts say they do not really ever need to be replaced, but wondering if that could be my problem?

Thanks in advance!

Rinse out your filters with dechlorinated water to clean them. You will lose a little BB but not all or even most of it. All filter elements will have to be replaced at some point. Nothing lasts forever. I haven't heard of never cleaning a filter element either if that's what you mean. Not only does it eventually clog the filter itself and causes it to stop running but it will also build up nitrates in your tank.