Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-22-2008, 09:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Question Question about my QT tank...

Okay -- my corys have been in their 2.5g QT tank for a couple of days now. I moved over the gravel and an artificial plant and a live plant that had been in my 2g betta tank to help start its cycle. The parameters had been fine until this morning. Nitrites were around .25 and ammonia was around .50. I immediately did a 50% water change. I have waited a little over an hour and I just tested the water again. My nitrites are a little less than .25, but not quite at 0, the ammonia is around .25. Is this low enough or should I do another PWC?? I don't want my parameters to get out of hand with these new corys. Any advice?
__________________

__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 10:36 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
As long as the numbers are under 0.5ppm you should be fine.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 10:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Thanks Joy!!
__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 07:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Might have a problem with one of my corys....I have noticed today that one of my corys is missing their barbels (sp). I did not notice this at all when I brought them home, but to be quite honest I wasn't counting barbels. It just today that I noticed that one of them doesn't have them. I did another pwc today also because my parameters for nitirites and ammonia keep hovering around 5 for ammonia and .25 for the nitrites. It is the ammonia that worries me the most.
__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about tank mates / Tank Size... Verbalkint Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-03-2006 05:01 PM
used tank question justrelax Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-29-2006 09:00 AM
QT Tank....another question fishman Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 05-28-2004 08:26 PM
Q tank question... stryder Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 11-16-2003 03:15 PM
Not a tank question....but sig question? Coralena Forum Admin & Announcements 5 08-28-2003 03:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.