Question on plants and type of aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishStarter89

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am very new to this hobby and have not yet bought my aquarium. I was wondering what you would recommend for a newbie, real plants or artificial plants. I like the look of real plants but I don't know if I have the experience to keep those alive while I'm going through other newbie issues like keeping my fish alive. Any thoughts? Also, I'm thinking about buying this aquarium, is this a good idea?
http://www.tetra-fish.com/sites/tetrafish/catalog/productdetail.aspx?id=1276&cid=3120

Welcome to AA. My vote is live plants. I think they look better (at least more natural), and are at least half the fun of the hobby. I started as a newbie to the aquarium hobby about 3 months ago, and am already on to my second planted tank. :)

If you do choose live plants, just make sure you do your homework on the plants before buying -- you can find many plants that will survive in an extremely low tech setup... i.e. little to no fertilization, low light levels etc. If you decide you like that part of the hobby, you can always expand, and invest in equipment down the road that will allow you to grow some more demanding plants. Beware as well - places like petsmart and other large chain stores will attempt to sell you plants that won't work for your setup, or even attempt to sell you plants that are marketed as "AQUATIC" but they are in fact not suited for submerged growth.

When in doubt, (and sometimes even when not in doubt :) ) ask here on the AA forum. The folks here have really helped me gain a good understanding of the hobby, and have saved me much time, money, and frustration.

i vote live too. i hate the artificial look of aquarium stuff. plus live plants remove nitrates from the water, to complete the cycle.

Good adivce Fort