Question re: Higher PH in new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mamazgrrl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! I'm a newbie here. I am in the 4th week of a fishless cycle for my 10 gallon tank. My numbers are ammonia .25, nitrite 0, nitrate 5. I have one amazon sword plant. The ph is running steadily at 8.2. Will the fish adjust to this? I don't want to start messing around with the water chemistry if I don't have to. I plan on stocking 7 male guppies and 2 oto cats. Any help would be appreciated.:fish2:

Hi! I'm a newbie here. I am in the 4th week of a fishless cycle for my 10 gallon tank. My numbers are ammonia .25, nitrite 0, nitrate 5. I have one amazon sword plant. The ph is running steadily at 8.2. Will the fish adjust to this? I don't want to start messing around with the water chemistry if I don't have to. I plan on stocking 7 male guppies and 2 oto cats. Any help would be appreciated.:fish2:
Well, yes fish we have are tank breeds so they can adjust to a wide variety of ph levels. The key is consistency. You need a stable ph. Do not try to chase a particular ph level. Mostly fish adjust to ph levels easily except very few delicate fish. Slowly acclimate fish to your tank. Also ask the ph of water from where you gonna buy them. If you are in the same city then most probably the store has the same water supply like you and must have same ph value. Do not use any chemicals in your tanks to lower ph. They result in a ph crash (I had such disastrous experience once). You can add some natural driftwood to your tank to naturally lower the ph or some stones can do that too.

Good luck.

Hello grrl...