Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2020, 08:54 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 12
Restarting cycling process after washing established tank?

Hello,

I need help. So I got an old fish tank from someone else. It had algae on it so I thoroughly rinsed the tank and everything in it including the pebbles, decorations, filter with water only. The decorations still have some dark green to black “stain” on them but I got most of it out.

So am I supposed to cycle the tank all over again? How long will that take since this was established before? I don’t have a cartridge in the filter right now but I plan on getting a new one later.
__________________

__________________
joidevive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 09:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Did the system go a prolonged period of time without any fish in it? Beneficial bacteria will start to die off 2 or 3 hours if allowed to dry out. 2 or 3 days if kept wet. Even if longer you might not need to start over, depending on how long its been.
__________________

__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 09:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiken Drum View Post
Did the system go a prolonged period of time without any fish in it? Beneficial bacteria will start to die off 2 or 3 hours if allowed to dry out. 2 or 3 days if kept wet. Even if longer you might not need to start over, depending on how long its been.
I don’t know how long =/

Should I go by Tetra Water Care Kit? It has tablets that removes chlorine, adds bacteria, and buffers pH. Supposed to work instantly.
__________________
joidevive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 10:51 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
rlederer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 557
I don't know about the Tetra kit, but I'd be very wary of something that says it will start the cycle instantly.
__________________
Roger (always pH) Lederer
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 11:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 33
Did the exact same when I got my tank, made the rookie mistake of cleaning it and hence killed off the beneficial bacteria.

I just started my cycle over again by adding in Dr Tims ammonia and tank was cycled seemingly within 2-3 weeks by which stage I then added my fish.
__________________
jason19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 11:56 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
I would work on the basis that you have to cycle the aquarium again. If there is some beneficial bacteria in there then the cycle process will be speeded up.

Do you know how to cycle a tank?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 01:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiken Drum View Post
I would work on the basis that you have to cycle the aquarium again. If there is some beneficial bacteria in there then the cycle process will be speeded up.

Do you know how to cycle a tank?
I think I am going to let it cycle by letting the tank sit for at least 2 weeks with current freshly filled water without any fish. I am also going to add a conditioner to help the bacteria along. Do I have to let the filter run continuously or can I turn it off now and then? I don’t have a cartridge right now.

I’m not going to be using the ammonia test kit or API. I’m just going to put in 1-2 small fish and see how they react and if I need to adjust the water like adding pH buffer or conditioner.
__________________
joidevive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 02:25 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by joidevive View Post
I think I am going to let it cycle by letting the tank sit for at least 2 weeks with current freshly filled water without any fish. I am also going to add a conditioner to help the bacteria along. Do I have to let the filter run continuously or can I turn it off now and then? I donít have a cartridge right now.

Iím not going to be using the ammonia test kit or API. Iím just going to put in 1-2 small fish and see how they react and if I need to adjust the water like adding pH buffer or conditioner.
Just letting the tank run for a couple of weeks wont cycle it. There has to be an ammonia source to fuel the cycle, otherwise water will just circulate through the system and nothing will happen.You either do a fishless cycle where you put ammonia into the tank, which substitutes for fish waste and the beneficial bacteria can feed on and grow or a fish in cycle.

It looks like you have opted for a fish in cycle. Set everything up, let it run a day or 2 to make sure everything is running properly. Put 1 small fish per 10 gallons in. Test everyday (you really need a test kit). If you see any readable ammonia or nitrite do a 25% water change. You can add your bacteria because that will speed up the cycling. Eventually, when you are seeing 0 ammonia and nitrites over a few consecutive days and nitrates are rising your aquarium is cycled is for the amount of fish currently in there. You can add a few more fish. Rinse and repeat until you are fully stocked.

And yes, the filter needs to be running 24 hours a day.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 02:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 12
I had set up my tank as suggested. I put 1 fish in yesterday and added bacteria.

This morning, the tank is really, really cloudy it’s hard to see! That’s pretty good.
__________________
joidevive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 02:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Cloudy like milk or cloudy like particles floating in the water?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 02:52 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 12
I don't think I noticed any particles. It's more homogeneous so I guess that would be milk like. It's starkly different compared to yesterday when my water was perfectly clear.
__________________

__________________
joidevive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tank, cycling, star, starting, established tank, start, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restarting after ICH loss Remington Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 10-20-2019 02:56 PM
Restarting cycle after killing cyanobacteria lectraplayer Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 05-03-2014 10:49 AM
Restarting Aquarium after 8 years.... browns4x Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 01-12-2013 11:05 AM
10,000k lamp washing out colors in my tank TankBoss Cichlid Discussion 0 02-27-2011 02:44 AM
Restarting a tank after yet another failure! Lmacbeth Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-20-2002 06:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.